Category Archives: Womens Sevens

Black Ferns fall to Australia in Dubai 7s


Despite a powerful performance through the Dubai 7s, the Black Ferns were halted in the final by an Australian women’s team that outscored them 35-27 to win the cup final.  Russia, who crushed England during pool play and looked capable of challenging in the final ended up coming 3rd when they beat Canada 15-10.   England scraped into 5th place after beating Spain 17-10.

The Womens Sevens World Series reconvenes for Round Two in Atlanta, USA on February 15-16.  Tickets are now on sale.

1 Australia Australia 20
2 New Zealand New Zealand 18
3 Russia Russia 16
4 Canada Canada 14
5 England England 12

Second IRB Women’s Sevens World Series kicks off


Canada and France will kick off the Dubai 7s on Thursday morning, launching the Second Women’s Sevens World Series.  The Women’s Sevens will be followed by the mens Sevens World Series that begins on Friday.  The women’s series of the Dubai 7s will be streamed live on

12 teams will be competing in the five leg series that will lead them to Amsterdam on May 17, 2014. A sixth leg of the series has yet to be announced.

Huriana_Manuel-1200Winners of last years inaugural women’s world series, New Zealand will no doubt find the competition more challenging and look to make a dominant start in Dubai.  New Zealand play Fiji, Ireland and the United States in the pool stages on Thursday.  Captain Huriana Manuel led her side to victory in the Sevens Rugby World Cup in Moscow and with that confidence they are the side to beat.

Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and USA are core teams on the 2013/14 IRB Women’s Sevens World Series after reaching the quarter-finals of Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013. The eight core teams will compete across all rounds of the Series. –

Tunisia, Brazil, Fiji and France round out the 12 teams participating in the Dubai 7s.

IRB Women’s Sevens World Series 2013/14: Dates and Venues:

First leg: Dubai, United Arab Emirates – November 28-29, 2013
Second leg: Atlanta, Georgia, USA – February 15-16, 2014
Third leg: Arena Barueri, São Paulo, Brazil – February 21-22, 2014
Fourth leg:
 Guangzhou University Town Stadium, Guangzhou, China – April 4-6 2014
Fifth leg: National Rugby Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands – May 16-17, 2014